RSS

Yet Another Damn Nano Blog

02 Nov

Well, it’s November and I find my tweet feed inundated with blogs about Nanowrimo.

You know, the ones where the authors reveal their clever secrets to getting through nano and winning.

Well, if I have to read them, then dammit, I’m gonna write one. So here it is:

Yet another damn blog about nano.

You want to know the trick to winning nano?

It’s easy.

Write, you idiot.

Sit your butt in a chair in front of your writing instrument of choice and put words down, one after the other. Keep doing this until you hit 50k.

And don’t whine about how hard it is while you’re doing it. Or how sore your wrists are. Save that for Ernest Hemingway.

Who will kick your ass for complaining, by the way. And I will watch, laughing. And post the video of your ass-whooping on YouTube.

Stop angsting over how poop-tastic your plot is. Or fretting about how fecally-challenged your characters are.

Writers write.

So write, dammit.

Nano is all about a first draft, not a freaking polished novel. Show some discipline and push out those words. Worry about the quality when you start editing. (And if you just asked, “What’s editing?” hold still – I’m sending Ernest Hemingway over to say hi. With his fists.)

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a novel, er, excuse me, a first draft to write.

And now, a word from our sponsor: me!

Marlowe and the SpacewomanClick here to check out my forthcoming book, Marlowe and the Spacewoman, coming out January 9th, 2012 (Balloon Ascension Day)!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 2 November 2011 in Other Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
