RSS

Ian M. Dudley and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Week

30 Nov
Peek-a-boo. Angry Hulk sees you!

Just when I think it can’t get any worse, I come down with jaundice.

Since the warranty is expiring soon, I’ve been irrationally worried about my car. If something’s gonna go wrong, I want it to happen this month.

Then yesterday it got hit by a truck.

While I was in it.

The good news is, the blow was a glancing one, with only cosmetic damage to the car.

The mental damage (to me, not the car) was a bit more serious

To be honest, getting hit by a truck while sitting at a red light, while it might seem like a major cause for mental trauma, was merely icing on the cake of a long week.

A terrible, horrible, no good, very bad week.

My work schedule changed this week, and as a result, I ended up working six days in  a row. And being salaried, I don’t get overtime.

My kids are sick. One decided to throw up late at night, all over the missus and I as well as himself. And the washing machine and dryer were both already full.

A relative of mine had a major, we’ll call it an event, and I had to deal with that.

And to top if off, I forgot to set my alarm last night.

Normally, my kids screaming at Oh Dark Thirty for food and attention can be banked upon as reliably as that national treasure, Old Faithful.

Not this morning.

So there was a great deal of rushing and stressing and screaming and gnashing of teeth.

The kids and the missus were mildly agitated too.

But now the kids are in school, breakfast has been eaten, and I’m back in the Man Cave, working on this post.

And then the dog came in and threw up on the floor.

Not surprisingly, I’m on edge. With my new schedule, I’m not sure if my awful week has finally ended and I can safely stop worrying or if there is more to come.

This is not conducive to good mental health.

The worst part, though? The damage to the car is not covered by the warranty.

And now, a word from our sponsor: me! My books are available!

Marlowe and the Spacewoman:

Marlowe and the Spacewoman

Kleencut (FREE!):

So bad it won a Voidy for the next THREE consecutive years (would have been FOUR, but 2012 was a leap year)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 30 November 2012 in Angst, Conspiracies Out To Get Me, Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
